The Mini Humbucker versus Firebird question is a popular one. Very interesting. My real mission was to find a decent alternative Tele type twang. 1992 Gibson Firebird V demo with Lollar mini humbucker by Vincenzo Manzi Hello, my name is Vincenzo Manzi. I had a Tele with P-90's in it and just for the hell of it, I swapped in some Mini-hums first and then some Firebird pickups, both Lollar. So, I read the article about the Firebird pickups vs. the Deluxe style mini humbuckers. Reply to this topic; ... but especially with high output recent mini-humbuckers, you should be able to get a decent balance in output between the neck and bridge. Followers 0. Mini Humbucker Vs Humbucker. The Fralin are the best clean humbucker I've ever heard. So now that we have compared the mini humbucker against the P90, let’s go ahead and compare it to the original-sized counterpart. By Shaker, January 31, 2009 in Gibson USA. I am a guitarist and singer as well . The mini-humbucker first became widely known to rock guitarists in 1968, when Gibson introduced it as the stock pickup of the … There are so many different kinds of pickups available that it can become difficult to dig through the ever-growing pile to choose the best one for your guitar. I'm torn between a mini humbucker with adjustable pole pieces or a firebird style pickup. The Mini-hums were full and balanced, yet had tons of snap and attack. As the name suggests, the mini humbucker is a bit smaller in size compared to the original humbucker. Learn the difference between these two vintage style pickups. I have a kind of dark/mellow sounding mahogany-bodied Moon "Reggae Master" with … … I have a Firebird 2010 model and really like it, with one exception, and I'm sure you can guess what exception that is. In my Firebird V, I actually routed out the neck for a 50's low wind Lollar P90 and it matches ridiculously well with the Lollar bridge Firebird mini (it sounds like an odd combination, but the warmth of the P90 works well with t